search
SubscribeSUBSCRIBE
Health Insiders
Shapiro MD Review – Does It Regrow Your Hair?

Shapiro MD Review – Does It Regrow Your Hair?

Looking for Shapiro MD products review? Find out here! We talk about ingredients, pros, cons, price, possible side effects, and more.

Disclosure: Every product is independently selected by our editors. Things you buy through our links may earn Health Insiders a commission. Learn more about our review process here.

 

About Shapiro MD

Shapiro MD is marketed as an organic shampoo/conditioner which is supposed to encourage hair growth. The product should thicken your hair and make it grow in much fuller.

It’s intended for men over the age of 18, and post-menopausal women. This is a product that was designed directly by dermatologists and dermatological experts.

Shapiro MD

Shapiro MD Review – Health Insiders Images

 

QUICK FACTS

SHAPIRO MD – HAIR LOSS SHAMPOO AND CONDITIONER

TYPE: Suitable for all Hair Types

BRAND: Shapiro MD Hair Growth Experts

SIZE: 8.5 oz

BENEFIT: Hair Loss, Volumizing

FORMULA: Cruelty-free, Sulfate Free, Paraben Free

ADDRESS & PHONE: USA/CANADA | E: [email protected] | P: (877) 907-4047 & Fulfillment Address:
Attn: Shapiro MD, Returns. 211 S. 9th Street, Columbia, PA 17512

ACTIVE INGREDIENTS: Green Tea (EGCG), Caffeine, Saw Palmetto

USES: Has helped thousands of men and women regain fuller, thicker hair and the confidence they deserve.* (*All individuals are unique. Your results can and will vary.)

PRICE: $49.95

 

Shapiro MD Ingredients – What to Look For

There are 3 main active ingredients in this product, as well as a number of inactive substances.

The active ingredients include:

  • Green Tea (EGCG) – The active ingredient in green tea is EGCG. It can both stimulate hair follicles, so they grow and prolong the hair growth cycle. This leads to fuller, thicker hair. Green tea inhibits the release of the hormone DHT, which leads to hair loss. A study in Phytomedicine found that green tea does stimulate hair growth.
  • Caffeine – This is a psychoactive stimulant found in coffee, tea, and chocolate. In shampoo, it has the effect of stimulating the hair follicles to stop the effects of the hormone DHT. This hormone leads to hair loss. It can stimulate the flow of blood in the scalp and encourage hair to grow. Research published in the International Journal of Trichology showed that topically-applied caffeine can lead to hair growth.
  • Saw Palmetto Berry – The berries come from the Saw Palmetto tree, and they’re known to have medicinal benefits. It’s rich in potent antioxidants, which can prevent further damage to the hair follicles. Saw palmetto berry also inhibits the release of DHT. An article in the Journal of Cutaneous and Aesthetic Surgery said that there is little evidence to support a connection between saw palmetto and hair growth.

 

How Does It Work? | The Science Behind Shapiro MD

There are two processes at work in this product. There’s a hormone called DHT which, when released, causes hair loss. It’s been linked to male pattern baldness. The ingredients in this product block DHT from being released.

A study published in Advances in Dermatology and Allergology concluded that “Dihydrotestosterone is the most influential androgen and seems to play a very important role in the pathogenesis of androgenetic alopecia (hair loss).”

Another process at work involves the use of stem cells included in the product. They can rejuvenate your hair follicles, stimulating them to grow. The Journal of Dermatology and Dermatologic Surgery present evidence for the use of stem cells for hair regrowth.

 

Shapiro MD Pros & Cons

Pros

  • This product could make your hair grow.
  • It can make your hair thicker and fuller.
  • Shapiro MD contains only organic ingredients.
  • The product is designed by dermatologists.
  • It’s only supposed to take 30 days to work.

Cons

  • This is an expensive product.
  • There are quite a few inactive ingredients.
  • There are a number of users who found the product ineffective.

 

Customer Questions and Answers

Q: How to Use Shapiro MD?

A: There are no specific instructions provided, but this is a shampoo/conditioner and should presumably be used like all shampoo/conditioners.

Wet your hair, add shampoo and rub your scalp. Lather up the shampoo. Wash off. If you have particularly oily hair, repeat a second time.

Q: Does Shapiro MD Have Any Side Effects?

A: According to the manufacturer, there are no side effects associated with taking this product. Women who are of childbearing age should not take it, as it can hurt the fetus.

CAUTION: If you should experience unpleasant side effects, stop taking the product immediately and see a doctor if necessary.

Q: Can I Take Shapiro MD If I Have A Health Condition?

A: There are no health conditions that preclude using this product, unless you're allergic to one of the ingredients. Look at the list of inactive substances carefully, because there are quite a few.

Q: Does Shapiro MD Work?

A: It worked for about half of the customers who wrote reviews. For the other half, it was completely ineffective. It's difficult to come to a final conclusion except to say that the product seems to function differently for different users.

Q: Is Shapiro MD gluten-free?

A: Yes, No Parabens. Sulfate-Free. Cruelty-Free. Naturally Occurring

Q: What Is Shapiro MD Moneyback Guarantee, Return & Refund Policy?

A: The manufacturer is offering a 60-day return policy. If you're dissatisfied with the product for any reason at all, let the company know and send back the unused portion. You'll get a full refund, minus the shipping fees.

 

Shapiro MD Alternatives

Brand Price Active Ingredients
Shapiro MD $49.95 Green Tea (EGCG), Caffeine, Saw Palmetto
LES Labs Hair Health $29.99 Biotin, bamboo extract, hydrolyzed keratin, MSM
Lipogaine $20-$29.95 Minoxidil 2% and Minoxidil 5%
Folexin $24.95 Fo-Ti, Biotin, L-Tyrosine, Saw Palmetto
Propidren $39.99 Green Tea Extract, Fo Ti Root, Nettle Extract, Saw Palmetto, Horsetail Extract.
H-Boost $54.99 Copper, selenium, vitamin C, pantothenic acid
Keranique Hair Regrowth System $49.95 Minoxidil 2%, Peppermint oil, Keratin

The price of Shapiro MD is about mid-range in the market. There are hair growth products which are a lot more expensive, and some that are quite a bit cheaper.

The ingredients are quite different in every product, with very little overlap.

 

Is Shapiro MD Safe? – Warnings & Complaints

According to the manufacturer claims, there were no warnings about side effects are anything similar. The product is quite safe for most people, as long as you aren’t allergic to something in it.

CAUTION: However, this is limited to men above 18 and post-menopausal women.

 

Shapiro MD Customer Reviews & Results

The reviews are divided right down the middle. There are users who are very pleased with this product, and they felt it made their hair grow in very thick.

The other half of the reviews were from customers who found the product totally ineffective and a waste of money. Some had trouble getting their refund as per the policy.

 

Shapiro MD: Packages, Deals, Prices & Where to Buy It

You can buy this product on the manufacturer’s official website for $49.95. You can get it at Walmart, and from other third-party retailers.

It’s also for sale on Amazon, and the prices are as follows:

  • One month, one-time purchase – $64.99
  • One month, monthly subscription – $61.74
  • 2 months – $100
  • 4 months – $214

 

The Bottom Line

Shapiro MD is an organic shampoo/conditioner which is meant to encourage the hair to grow thicker and fuller. The reviews for this product were mixed.

As much as there were some excellent reports from happy customers, there were also a number of users who found the product ineffective.

Shapiro MD is a shampoo and conditioner, and both are organic, so you don’t have to get a doctor’s approval to use it unless you have very sensitive skin.

However, if you should experience burning, itching, rash, or any other symptoms, stop using Shapiro MD immediately and see a doctor if necessary. Few reviewers mentioned side effects.

Is There Anything Else You Should Know About Shapiro MD?

Hopefully, Shapiro MD will be the product that helps to grow in your hair nice and thick.

There are some natural methods you can also try to make your hair grow.

Here are some tips:

  • Rub olive oil through your hair once a day. Many people believe this will thicken your hair (source).
  • Apply raw egg to your hair, leave it on for 30 minutes, then wash it out.
  • A healthy diet rich in nutrients, fruits, and vegetables can help thicken thinning hair.
  • Apply a rub of avocado and olive oil mixed together on your hair. Leave it on for 30 minutes, then wash out.

References

Advertisement

support hair growth

Shapiro MD Shampoo Customer Reviews and Complaints

Review this product and share your thoughts with other customers

Ask a Question
Average Customer Rating:1.5 
19 Customer Reviews

Rating Snapshot:

Excellent 
0
Great 
0
Average 
2
Poor 
5
Bad 
12
Bottom Line: 0% would recommend it to a friend
Reset sorting
    By Pamela W. 

    Waste of money — try something else

    Shapiro MD hair products did not work at all. My refund was denied. Save your money. Avoid frustration. Don’t buy this product. Garbage.

    Flag

    December 17, 2020 8:38 pm

    By Hillier T. 

    Worried as this has affected my Hair and Nails color

    I have been using the Shapiro MD products for over 3 months. My hair is not falling anymore however I noticed it changed my hair color. My hair is quite a bit darker now and I have noticed my fingernails are getting dark stains on them every time I wash my hair. Has anyone experienced this, why is this happening now? This only started happening in the last 2-3 weeks.

    Flag

    November 27, 2020 1:41 pm

    By Patty 

    Hair very thin now.

    Metastatic breast cancer. Taking Ibrance drug and Letrozole RX which takes all hormones out of my body. Been using shampoo and conditioner for three weeks with foam. Do you have any other cancer patients that have had any results with your product? Dr. said ok to try. Do I need to incorporate FINASTERIDE And MINOXIDIL?

    Flag

    October 29, 2020 5:51 am

    By Matt 

    I want my money back, didn’t help at all

    I’m taking this product because I have a receding hairline. This product didn’t help at all. I want my money back I bought this product in July of 2020 and it’s now October 6 2020 and I have not seen one single result.

    Flag

    October 7, 2020 2:28 am

    By Donna 

    Shapiro MD is a SCAM company. Stay away!

    I placed a one time order that the company changed to a recurring order. In addition, the order came late with the foam product exploding on shipment. Any attempts to contact customer support was impossible. I had to have my Visa card cancelled in order to stop them from taking my money and shipping more products. This company is disreputable. Please beware!

    Flag

    October 3, 2020 4:12 pm

    By Maris Sheldrake 

    $$$ deducted from my account

    I did not order any products but $179.82 has been deducted from my account. I have tried for over a week to talk to someone & never reach anybody. It says someone will call & they never do. Hopefully, someone will reply to this message.

    Flag

    September 17, 2020 10:40 am

    By Kathleen L 

    The product exploded in package

    I have made many attempts to get a refund. When the package arrived, it was coated on the inside of the box, the instruction sheet, and the product containers with a sticky, strong chemical-smelling substance. My order came to $229.95 – shampoo, conditioner, and leave-in daily foamier. The attempts I made include numerous phone calls and ‘live chats’ with no person on the other end. I have left messages but received no responses. Cannot return the product USPS because I believe it is combustible.

    Flag

    September 1, 2020 9:48 pm

    By Kathleen L. 

    Product exploded in package chemical smell

    I just finished posting this to FB. I ordered the shampoo, conditioner, and leave-in condition daily foamier. The total cost was $229.95. ‘Please answer my numerous requests about how to obtain a refund. The product arrived here, having splattered all over the inside of the box. It left a sticky substance (with a strong chemical smell) on the instructional sheet and product containers on the top layer of the box. This is the second time today, I have posted a similar message. (The last one disappeared from my newsfeed). I have written on your web site ‘live chat’, but no one was there to answer. I have called numerous times and left the call back number, I have waited on the line until it disconnected me, and I have left a message on your automated answering line. This has taken place over a period of weeks now with no results. Please Respond. I cannot afford to spend nearly over $200 for a product that promises to be guaranteed and is unusable. I cannot return the product USPS because they appear to be combustible. PLEASE RESPOND ASAP. I have tried to resolve this through a company representative privately, with no success. Since I have had to go to this public forum ~ BUYER BEWARE!

    Flag

    September 1, 2020 9:12 pm

    By Linda Brown 

    Does Shapiro MD work

    My hair loss is caused by Lichen Plano Polaris. Is this still an effective treatment for me?

    Flag

    August 28, 2020 12:52 pm

    By Sylvia Harrison 

    Would like to return Shapiro MD

    I would like to return Shapiro MD. I need a return authorization code to return it. I tried many time but no one will return my calls or email. Any advice? Please help me out if anyone can.

    Flag

    August 26, 2020 12:34 pm

    By Michele 

    Shapiro MD SCAM

    ORDERED, CHARGED. FAKE FEDEX TRACKING #…MANY CALLS…NO RESPONSE…I have been chasing the Shapiro MD order for 2 months. I will have American Express cancel the payment and I have reported them to the Better Business Bureau. I gave the delay a lot of patience due to COVID, but this company is a SCAM. No idea if the product works as I never received my order.

    Flag

    August 25, 2020 7:15 pm

    By Scribner 

    Is Shapiro MD legit

    Tried cancelling Shapiro MD orders contacted customer service and emailed the company, totaling ignored request, the product was returned and no credit. Very disappointed…Don’t order Seriously bad service.

    Flag

    August 13, 2020 4:13 pm

    By Nicole O. 

    Shapiro MD Poor Customer Service - Do Not Bother

    I placed an order online and called customer service to modify it. The only option was to leave a message to receive a callback. I never received the call. But my credit card was promptly charged. A month later, still no call. I have used the Shapiro MD hair growth product for a couple of weeks. No results yet. But I will not reorder. I can’t do business with a company I can’t reach. I am so glad I did not sign up for recurring shipments or consent to being part of their club.

    Flag

    August 11, 2020 7:54 am

    By Phillips F. 

    Shapiro MD SCAM- Worst Customer Service Ever

    I ordered the Shapiro MD for hair loss in June. I immediately began receiving emails from them, what I didn’t receive, however, was the package. I decided that I would cancel with so many emails but products. The day after I sent a cancelation number I received a shipping notice. I sent two more emails asking for a return authorization but never received a reply. A month later I got a charge notice for another shipment I had not signed up for. Did not answer calls or email. SCAM!

    Flag

    August 6, 2020 7:28 pm

    By Wendy Amaro 

    Shapiro MD Scam, buyer beware, no customer service

    I placed one-time Shapiro MD hair growth order, apparently, they decided to ignore that and change it to automatically re-order. I’ve called and emailed. Have yet to receive an email response or been able to speak to a customer service agent. It is clear they are not in the business of selling a quality product but rather to scam people by automatically enrolling them in an auto-ship plan without their consent.

    Flag

    August 2, 2020 9:00 pm

    By Anastasia 

    How to return Shapiro MD hair growth product

    I tried Shapiro MD hair growth product, and the chemical in the fragrance made me very ill. I have called and wrote but I have not heard back from anyone in this company. I want to return the product and get a refund. But, they will not get back to me. I need a shipping label to return this… God, awful products!

    Flag

    July 31, 2020 5:54 am

    By Kirsten 

    Hasn't worked so far, Poor Customer Service!

    Hasn’t worked so far, 4 months plus, you CANNOT get anyone on the line to cancel your recurring subscription! I’m a 49-year-old female who has had hair loss since the birth of my first child 24 years ago. I’ve tried everything and have to wear extensions now, thank goodness no wigs- yet! Anyway, I’ve been using their products for 4-5 months, haven’t seen any difference yet but it’s just shampoo and conditioner, no leaves on serums so I am not surprised I don’t see much of anything. I am fine to keep trying it for another few months, as I know things take time to work. However, I have MORE than enough product, as I signed up for their discount rate if you get it auto-shipped/charged. I CANNOT FOR THE FRICKEN LIFE OF ME get anyone on the phone to do so. You have to call them, then they tell you they will call you back within 24 hours. I have a business in which I cannot have my phone on for calls, and it is next to impossible for me to reach them. I have emailed them as well to ask them take me off auto-subscription but to no avail. I just warn you, if you want to try it for a while, DO NOT go on auto-subscription because they make it next to impossible for you to discontinue your auto-shipments, and they are NOT cheap. Just an honest review, would love to have something amazing to say…

    Flag

    July 1, 2020 8:43 pm

    By Penny Butler 

    This experience was a complete nightmare!!!!

    Prior to COVID-19 and loosing my job, I ordered the shampoo and conditioner. Afterwards hard times hit and then a month later I got another another order with 2 shampoos and 2 conditioners that I did not order nor did I authorize, yet here was the order and a charge for $107.00. I have since tried getting a refund and a return label sent to me with no avail. After several emails and several phone calls I finally got someone who said I would be credited but would have to pay to send the product that I NEVER ordered back. When I told him I didn’t think that was fair, he put me on hold and came back saying he’d issue me a paid postage that would be emailed to me. I never got that email or paid postage. Since then I have started emailing them again and trying to get through with no success. My next step Is to just pay the postage and send it back in hopes they will credit me. Because of the difficulty and the fact that they put you on an automatic RE-order program after your first order, I would not recommend this company.

    Flag

    May 8, 2020 7:11 pm

    By Marie Luca 

    Not worth! Look for something else

    I love this brand but not this product at all. This product does nothing for my hair and doesn’t make it feel any softer, shiner, or healthier. I do like there conditioner a little bit but the shampoo is just a waste of money. When I put shampoo in my hair than when I washed it out, my hair felt very dry and stiff in just one wash only. Instead of hair growth, it made my hair fall more. So if you are thinking about purchasing this one I wouldn’t recommend and I would look to try another product instead.

    Flag

    May 8, 2020 6:11 am

Load More

Back to top

X

The "Verified Reviewer" authentication is just one more way that we strive to bring our readers the most accurate and reliable information.

×

Add a YouTube video

X

How helpful was it?

icon This article changed my life! icon This article was informative. icon I have a medical question. icon Ask a Question
X

How helpful was it?

icon This article changed my life! Change
Your Rating
Note: Health Insiders isn't a healthcare provider. We can't respond to health questions or give you medical advice.
Your Privacy is important to us.
X

How helpful was it?

icon This article was informative. Change
Your Rating
Note: Health Insiders isn't a healthcare provider. We can't respond to health questions or give you medical advice.
Your Privacy is important to us.
X
icon I have a medical question. Change

We’re unable to offer personal health advice, but we’ve partnered with JustAnswer who offers on-demand doctors to answer your medical questions 24/7. Talk online now with a doctor and get fast 1-on-1 answers from the comfort of your couch.

just answer logo
ASK A DOCTOR NOW

If you’re facing a medical emergency, call your local emergency services immediately, or visit the nearest emergency room or urgent care center.

X

How can we improve it?

icon This article contains incorrect information. icon This article doesn’t have the information I’m looking for. icon I have a medical question. icon Ask a Question
X

How can we improve it?

icon This article contains incorrect information. Change
Your Rating
Note: Health Insiders isn't a healthcare provider. We can't respond to health questions or give you medical advice.
Your Privacy is important to us.
X

How can we improve it?

icon This article doesn’t have the information I’m looking for. Change
Your Rating
Note: Health Insiders isn't a healthcare provider. We can't respond to health questions or give you medical advice.
Your Privacy is important to us.
X
icon I have a medical question. Change

We’re unable to offer personal health advice, but we’ve partnered with JustAnswer who offers on-demand doctors to answer your medical questions 24/7. Talk online now with a doctor and get fast 1-on-1 answers from the comfort of your couch.

just answer logo
ASK A DOCTOR NOW

If you’re facing a medical emergency, call your local emergency services immediately, or visit the nearest emergency room or urgent care center.

x

Have a Question? Please Tell Us What We Are Missing Here!

Find answers in product info, Q&As, reviews
Submit Your Privacy is important to us.
X

Healthinsiders.com is intended to be used for educational and information purposes only. All Health Insiders content is medically reviewed and fact-checked by a board of medical experts to ensure accuracy.

In keeping with our strict quality guidelines, we only cite academic research institutions, medical authorities, or peer-reviewed studies in our content. You will be able to find links to these sources by clicking the numbers in parentheses (1, 2, etc.) that appear throughout our content.

Medical Disclaimer: This product/supplement review is not intended to provide diagnosis, treatment, or medical advice. Please consult with a physician or other healthcare professional regarding any medical or health-related diagnosis or treatment options.

Health Insiders does not assume liability for any actions undertaken after visiting these pages and does not assume liability if one misuses supplements. Healthinsiders.com and its Editors do not ensure that unforeseen side effects will not occur even at the proper dosages, and thereby does not assume liability for any side effects from supplements or practices hosted under the domain of Healthinsiders.com.

We invite you to contact us regarding any inaccuracies, information that is out of date, or any otherwise dubious content that you find on our sites via our feedback form.